The Real Dog

When I asked Travis Molitor to illustrate my book, there was a good reason for it; I am a terrible drawer! To help him come up with the cartoon version of Dog that has lived in my head for 30 years, I shared with him this picture of our last family dog, the incomparable Bud Dickerson.

Picture of our last family dog, Bud who was the model for Dog the dog.

Picture of our last family dog, Bud who was the model for Dog the dog.

Then I sent him my attempt at drawing Dog the dog. It’s almost too embarrassing to show but what the hay, here it is:

My terrible attempt at illustrating Dog the dog for Travis Molitor

My terrible attempt at illustrating Dog the dog for Travis Molitor

In the end, Travis was able to take these two images and create the simply perfect character that we all now know as Dog the dog. See, you don’t have to be great at everything in order to do something great. Sometimes you just need to know your strengths and get help where you are weak. Thank you a thousand times Travis Molitor (Illustrator of “Dog Gone Shame”)!

Leave a comment